What can you achieve in 200 days?

IMG_2276

200 days until summer in Australia, and counting. Winter hasn’t even fully reared its head yet my thoughts are already on hot days spent outdoors whether at the beach or with friends drinking mojitos in my sunshine. Thinking of this as only 200 days away makes it seem alot closer!

This has got me thinking – imagine how much can be achieved in 200 days!! Alot I say. And here’s a list of such things I will aim to do – my ’12 in 200′. I was initially going to do 20, but realised that this isn’t exactly a simple amount to keep track of. I’ve split them into categories, these being ‘Health & Fitness’, ‘Wellbeing’, ‘Career & Money’, ‘Creativity’ and my favourite… ‘Adventure’. As I present these over two posts, I hope it gives you some ideas and inspires you to get the wheels in motion to be the person you want to be and live the life you want to live… in only 200 days! I’d love to know what features on your own list!

Health and Fitness

1. 2 x 12 week challenges

I got this idea scrolling through an instagram account on fitness and immediately got my fitness buddy onto it. We’re in the process of each setting ourselves fitness goals to achieve at the end of each 12 week segment (theres a 1 month gap in between) and will continuously support and encourage each other throughout the entire process. My first goal? By the first week of August I will weigh 3kg more and have abs as hard as steel.

2. Enhance my cooking repertoire – every fortnight

I’m one of those people who will just cook what I already know because its ‘easy’ and doesn’t require too much thought. But when I do make something new I always feel so accomplished and happy that I’ve somehow enhanced my cooking knowledge and skills (unless of course the dish is a complete failure – but practise makes perfect!). I’ve definetely noticed a lot of meal repeats lately. I generally eat the same things for breakfast and lunch every day. Setting myself a goal of cooking something new every two weeks means that in 200 days, I will have 14 dishes added to my repertoire. That’s definitely encouraging some variety!

IMG_0800

3. Be informed

This can be applied to anything you’ve been wanting to learn, don’t confine it just to health and fitness!

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that I wasn’t 100% certain where my quad’s were until a couple of weeks ago. When referring to them I’d just point at them and say ‘this part’. Yeah human bio (or any science for that matter) was never my strong point. It’s slightly ironic that I so carefully plan my gym workouts and schedule so I can sculpt my body but really, I don’t actually know enough about my body to be as successful as I can be.  So I want to get researching. I’ve been telling myself to do it for ages, but now I’m putting my foot down and giving myself 200 days to grasp an understanding of how my body works in order to get it in the shape that I want.

Wellbeing

IMG_0882

4. Change a bad habit (or 9)

I use the concept that it takes 10 days to change a thought and 21 days to change a habit. You could break 9.5 bad habits in 200 days! (Although that’s probably a bit unrealistic).

I’m certainly in the midst of the thought changing stage in regards to my swearing. For reasons unbeknown, I have suddenly become more aware of my swearing, particuarly the effect it has on my mood. If I’m slightly angry about something and I verbalise it by using pretty vulgar language, I actually find my anger rise significantly. This proves that my mind has negative associations with these words, which therefore supports the reason why I shouldn’t be using them! Don’t do things that make you unhappy people.

5. Motivate others

One quote. Every day. That’s what I’ll be putting on my big whiteboard at work. I’ve been doing it every now and then for the past few weeks, and it’s so great when I get people coming into my office in anticipation for what I’ve put up. It makes me feel really good knowing I have had even the tiniest positive influence on someones mindset for the day. Which leads into number 6…

IMG_1618My favourite quotes, on my bedroom wall for me to repeat every day.

6. Inspire others

This one is directly linked to this blog. I will consistently utilise it as a vehicle for expression and by doing this, I hope to send nothing but mega positive vibes to my audience (that’s you!). I’m a big believer of staying true to yourself and that through the power of positive thinking, anything is possible.  I do hope this shows and that it could possibly inspire you somehow, even if in the smallest of ways.

Okay so in 200 days I will be at a healthier weight with rock-hard abs and thus feel healthier. I will know how to cook 14 more dishes and thus have more variety in my diet. I will actually know what the heck is going on with my own body and thus know how to treat it. I will be swearing less and therefore be less angry.  I will be experiencing extreme fulfilment with the knowledge that I am making an active effort to motivate others (any myself!) and inspire others to live life the way it should be lived.

Watch out for my final 6 achievements within the next couple of days! And remember – I LOVE feedback. Tell me what’s on your mind :)

I will posting my progress throughout the 200 days on this blog and also via instagram. Follow me at @tessacp if you like! 

4 thoughts on “What can you achieve in 200 days?

  1. Pingback: ’12 in 200′ – part 2 | Vistas of tomorrow

  2. Definitely love the idea of introducing new recipes, I love cooking and there are so much fun to have with food once you start trying around:)
    x Emilia

    • I can’t wait to expose myself to some different styles of foods and cooking! And the therapeutic benefits that spending time in the kitchen brings me will be a bonus too :)

      • Yes, so much fun! And the stress cooking takes away is just amazing!
        Upload the recipes once you start please, always good with inspiration:)
        x

Leave a comment