The Road to Cape Trib

IMG_2913

Excuse my recent lack of posting. I’ve started uni (on top of full-time work). I’m working hard. And when I’m not working hard, I’m dreaming of jumping on a plane and running away to somewhere with copious amounts of sunshine. The beautiful town of Port Douglas, located in north-east Australia would fill this brief quite nicely.

Which is why when day dreaming of such things, one particular day always comes to mind. When in Port Douglas recently, me and two new friends – Arlette from the Netherlands and Gavin from the US – decided to hire a car for a day and make the journey through the spectacular Daintree Forest up to Cape Tribulation. It was definitely a highlight of my trip. Such a great day with such amazing people!

First up we stopped at Mossman Gorge, taking the 2km rainforest loop walk to explore its beauty.

IMG_2792

IMG_2776

IMG_2784

IMG_2786

IMG_2799

These Buttress roots almost look like cardboard fixtures. They stabilise and collect valuable nutrients for the trees. And are generally just really beautiful. 

After the walk we hopped back in our car, anticipation building for the next part of our journey which would see us cross a river to enter the Daintree Forest. On the way we noticed a hitchhiker on the side of the road hoping for a ride to Cape Trib. We kinda thought ‘why not?’ and pulled up. And that’s how our crew got another addition of the awesome Tim from Germany.

We had heard great things about the Daintree Icecream Factory. Being the icecream lover that I am, obviously trying it was pretty much on top of my priorities. And oh my. Let me tell you. Some of the best icecream I’ve EVER had. Like, I dream about it.

IMG_2816

IMG_2818

IMG_2812

IMG_2820

With icecream out of the way, it was time to satisfy my second priority – swimming in a waterhole. So we drove further up the coast and found one. There’s something supremely carefree about swinging from a rope and jumping into crystal-clear water surrounded by lush rainforest.

Soon after we arrived a random kid came and had a swing. And when I say had a swing I mean totally-put-us-to-shame-with-his-jungle-kid-like-swinging-skills. He should be a gymnast. Or Tarzan.

IMG_2868

IMG_2864

IMG_2862

IMG_2866

Okay, now for the beaches. Driving up the coast it’s seriously a case of wanting to pull over every few minutes because witnessing the coastline from the car simply isn’t good enough.

Needless to say, I took many photos at the four (or was it five?) beaches we couldn’t help but stop at.

IMG_2824

IMG_2827

IMG_2835

IMG_2840

IMG_2841

IMG_2842

IMG_2846

IMG_2844

IMG_2852

IMG_2853

IMG_2874

IMG_2875

IMG_2876

IMG_2881

IMG_2886

IMG_2891

IMG_2893

IMG_2896

IMG_2899

IMG_2903

IMG_2904

IMG_2906

IMG_2910

IMG_2913

IMG_2919

IMG_2920

Tim’s hometown

IMG_2922

IMG_2923

We made it to Cape Trib late in the day, and dropped Tim off at his hostel (we actually bumped into him a week later in Cairns!). As the sun was setting, it was time to begin the drive back to Port Douglas. We were in such high spirits. A day like this tends to put you in that state of complete happiness.

Now can you see why I’ve been dreaming of this day? TAKE ME BACK!

4 thoughts on “The Road to Cape Trib

Leave a comment