The Road to Uluru (Part 2)

IMG_2600

I recently returned from a trip that took me to the centre of Australia, during which I camped, hiked and smiled my way to the wonder that is Uluru. See part 1 here.

If you were woken up at 5:30am in close to zero degree temperatures with your only choice of toilet a hole in the dirt, how would you feel? This was the situation I found myself in on day two of my camping tour – and I was so alive with excitement for the day ahead, and appreciation of where I was awaking, that absolutely no negative thoughts even considered crossing my mind. After some warming tea and porridge, it was time to head to Kata Tjuta – and let me tell you, nothing prepared me for what I was about to experience.

IMG_2586

Kata Tjuta

Kata Tjuta blew me away; the 7km walk I did through its beautiful landscape had me captivated in its entirety. ‘Kata Tjuta’ is an Aboriginal term meaning ‘many heads’, given due to the amount and shape of its many domes. The walk was really enjoyable, comprehending rocky tracks, climbing up and down rock faces and crossing flowing streams.

IMG_2583

Stream flows down while I climb up

1044601_10151752966946667_300826722_n

IMG_2577

Uluru

After a quick lunch it was time to head to the base of Uluru. Driving towards the massive rock was actually kind of strange. An overwhelmingly strong feeling rose inside me that acknowledged the spirit and beauty of what I was viewing, yet my mind could not tell me why; I couldn’t wait to find out what gives this rock its spiritual and cultural significance. The Cultural Centre was exactly what I needed. It provided me with information about the Mala people who once occupied the rock, and the events that occurred which characterised the rock and indeed the Anangu (traditional owners) way of life. Afterwards Josh took us on the Mala walk, recounting the story and actually displaying its evidence on parts of the rock. It was then that I could fully understand the uplifting feeling inside me.

We went to the sunset viewing area to witness something truly beautiful and watch the sun set over Uluru, seeing it change from one striking colour to another against the evolving sky.

IMG_2597

IMG_2625

IMG_2594

It was bitter-sweet arriving at camp that night; while in happy spirits, knowing it was the last night I would spend with my wonderful tour group was quite sad! We sat around the camp fire, toasted marshmallows and chatted the night away. Then, it was a night sleeping under the stars in my swag by the camp fire. Possibly the best way to sleep.

IMG_2602

IMG_2611

A beautiful way to end the tour presented itself the following morning, as we headed straight back to the Uluru viewing area to watch the sun rise (it was so cold – me and some of the girls had a mini aerobics session to try and warm up hehe).

IMG_2620

1016174_10151752975476667_966466312_n

With Christie and our awesome tour guide Josh

IMG_2617

We then undertook the 4km walk around Uluru’s base, seeing up close its stunning intricacies. And yes – that uplifting feeling inside me remained! Uluru really is a sacred place, and I feel so blessed to have experienced it first hand. (Note – some may wonder why I didn’t climb it. My answer is that after learning of its cultural and spiritual underlying, I personally found it to be quite disrespectful. It was actually a bit sad to see people jump off a tour bus and immediately commence the climb with no thought to learn about its histories. No disrespect at all to those who do choose to climb – just consider it a bit more :))

IMG_2647

IMG_2643

IMG_2633

IMG_2637

After three days, about 20km of hiking, two nights in a swag and a sore face from smiling so damn much, it was time for the tour to come to an end. I can honestly say this was one of the best things I have ever done, and even some of the best days of my life. The knowledge, perspective and pure experience the tour provides is so invaluable and even life-changing. But the biggest positive of all? The friendships. I made 21 new friends that will have a place with me forever.

Next post sees me in sunny Queensland, where the awe and adventure definitely didn’t end…

2 thoughts on “The Road to Uluru (Part 2)

Leave a comment